Ski Trip!

In early February, some of the DA Middle School went on the ski trip. Me and my friends, Aaron, Liam, Kareem, and Harris all got onto a Charter Bus at 4:45 in the morning. The 4-hour ride took us to Beech Mountain. First, we went to our Cabin, where we got our gear on. Finally, we got to the shop where we had to get our gear on. It took 2 hours just to be in line. Imagine this. About 50 people scrunched around you, talking to your friends, making bad jokes, being hungry, and living off energy drinks, and having to use the bathroom really bad, moving about 6 inches per 3 minutes, just to get ski gear. That’s it. Finally, I got my gear on, and waited for my beginner lesson to start. Me and my friends were all doing the beginner lesson too. First we learned how to put our skis on and do fundamental stuff like walk up a hill. You had to go sideways to go up.  Then we learned how to stop. They say put your skis in a pizza shape. (Spoiler: IT DOESN’T WORK!) there’s another way, where you turn. (I’m bad at turning, so I can’t do that.) and then there’s the least efficient way, falling. So the way to stop, I fell. Finally, lessons ended and we got to go on the beginner course. The beginner course was at a hill, and we had to go up another one. It was about a football field away, but it took us like 30 minutes to get there. Finally, we went up this escalator thingy to get to the top. First, I skied down. I felt like I was going too fast, (I was probably going at 5 mph), and I fell. I was in the “snow”, and I was halfway down. I tried to get up, but its hard to do on skis. Finally I got up, and walked to the top. About 5 more times, I repaired this. I was in the middle, feeling hungry, cold and miserable. And I had to use the bathroom real bad. Finally, I got down and went to lunch. I used the bathroom, and got some chicken tenders and two waters, and hung out with the boys. Finally, I got back on the slope, and finally started to ski a little bit! I got better over the hours, and so did my friends. Liam and Kareem went to go ski on the next level. Aaron could stop efficiently. Harris was also really good. ‘Jonah (me) was going down at a trillion miles per hour, and then intentionally falling dangerously,’ joked Mr. Lantzy, the P.E. teacher. Finally it was time to go back. We got back to school on the four hour ride back, and got home to share the experience with my family. I had a great time and thank you to the teachers and adults who helped plan this great trip!

https://www.beechmountainresort.com/

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *